Batting a Thousand Act 1 part 2

image

EXT. SIDEWALK BISTRO — DAY

The bistro is packed again, among the customers are Angel
and Shawn, sitting at a small table near the back, close to
a brick wall, away from the sidewalk.

She has a pad of yellow legal paper and a pen, he has a
beer.

They are laughing and cutting up, getting along great. A waiter
interrupts them.

WAITER
Could I bring you guys another
round?

SHAWN
Please.

The waiter exits.

ANGEL
I just want to thank you for doing
this interview for me. I need a big
scoop to get my career rolling.

SHAWN
Well, your welcome, as they say a
friend of Ben’s is a friend of
mine, and I am flattered, but, I
don’t think I’m your big break.

ANGEL
Can I ask you one more question?

SHAWN
Sure, I don’t know what we haven’t
covered, but shoot.

ANGEL
You have been linked to Megan
Wright, the supermodel, are there
any truths to the rumors that you
two could be possibly be…

SHAWN
I appreciate the opportunity to do
this interview and that S.I. would
even be interested in a triple A
player like myself, but I don’t want
to answer anymore questions, so
thank you Ms. Wilson, but I have to
get to practice.

Shawn stands and throws a twenty on the table.

SHAWN
The drinks are on me. Goodbye, and
nice seeing you again.

Shawn heads for the exit, passing the waiter with the drinks on
a tray.

INT. BEN’S KITCHEN — NIGHT

It is a very modern and beautiful kitchen. Shawn is there with
the two couples again.

He stands by the island that sits in the middle of the large kitchen,
surrounded by red cherry cabinets, and stainless steel
appliances.

He has a knife and a cutting board in front of him with some vegetables
on it cutting them up. He leans the cutting board over a
boiling pot that sits on the stove and dumps them in.

They all move to a large cherry table and begin talking, when
the doorbell rings.

ABIGAIL
I’ll get that, it is probably the
final member of the dinner party.

BEN
Who is it?

ABIGAIL
You’ll see, it’s a surprise.

Abigail leaves the room.

SHAWN
So have you heard anymore about the
Senators deal?

BEN
No, last I heard the Yankee’s
turned down the offer. But the deal
is still out there for anyone who
wants it.

SHAWN
I would love to go pro.

KENNY
Yeah can you imagine all the fame,
it would be great.

Abigail enters the room with Angel following.

ABIGAIL
Everyone, this is Angel. Angel that
little twerp over there is Kenny,
the beautiful lady with the bun in
the oven next to him is his wife Nicole.
You know Ben, and this handsome
gentleman is Shawn.

SHAWN
We’ve met.

ANGEL
Yeah I did a story earlier in the week for S.I.

ABIGAIL
Well, I guess you won’t mind
sitting next to him then.

INT. BEN’S KITCHEN…EVENING

They all take their seats and begin passing food around.
They are laughing, and talking.

Men are huddled at one end of the table and the ladies at
the other.

Shawn gets up to get him another beer out of the fridge, almost
simultaneously Angel stands with her glass.

SHAWN
What can I get for you while I’m
up.

ANGEL
No need, I’m up. Abigail do you
need another glass of wine.

ABIGAIL
Sure.

Angel and Shawn end up at the island at the same time, Angel reaches
for the wine bottle only to notice that it is empty.

ANGEL
Abigail, your bottle is empty.

ABIGAIL
Oh, I’ll show you where we keep the
wine.

SHAWN
I’m up, I can show her.

ABIGAIL
Okay.

Shawn and Angel exit the room headed down the hallway to another
room.

INT. MEDIA ROOM AT BEN’S HOUSE…EVENING

They enter a room that has a bar on one wall and big screen television
on the other.

SHAWN
This is Ben’s media room, mainly we
just watch sports in here. It is
right over here, behind the bar.

Shawn makes his way to the bar and reaches behind and pulls out
a bottle of red wine.

SHAWN
Merlot okay?

ANGEL
Perfect.

EXT. BEN’S HOME — NIGHT

Angel and Shawn are outside of Ben’s home near a sidewalk were
the guest’s cars are parked.

They are talking and laughing.

Angel reaches out and touches Shawn’s hand and laughs at
something witty that Shawn had just said.

SHAWN
I want to apologize for the way I
ran out of the interview the other
day, it’s just that I haven’t
really talked too much about Megan,
and the…

ANGEL
It is Okay, I was out of bounds, I
should have stuck strictly to
baseball questions, S.I. isn’t the
National Enquirer. Abigail told me
all about it over the phone
yesterday.

SHAWN
Still it didn’t give me the right
to act like a jerk. So I would like
to make it up to you by taking you
out for drinks and show you around
the city sometime.

ANGEL
Thank you, but, there is something
you should know about me. I have a
Fiancé back in New York.

SHAWN
No harm, its not a date, just
friends.

ANGEL
Sure, although, I did go to college
here, so I do my way around.

SHAWN
But I know were the ball players
like to spend their down time.

ANGEL (quickly)
It’s a date, oh, friends.

SHAWN
How about Friday night.

ANGEL
Pick me up at the office, I have to
work late getting my article in.

INT. SAM’S PLACE — NIGHT

Shawn and Angel enter the bar, it is high class.

They are all in Giorgio Armani and Ralph Lauren suits, and
two thousand dollar shoes.

The women show off designer dresses.

The bartenders are wearing tight black dress shirts and look
as though they are male models, probably are.

The waitresses also look like models in slim black dresses.
Shawn and Angel walk in, both stunning.

Shawn is in a black Giorgio Armani suit with a navy blue tie and
a white shirt.

Angel is in a red dress that has two thin spaghetti straps and
A v low in the neck revealing stunning cleavage, and the back cut low
to reveal all of her back, . Her hair is down and wavy.

They make their way to the bar and Shawn steps up the
bartender.

SHAWN
Miller Lite and a Cosmo, please.

BARTENDER
Thirty-five dollars. Shawn hands
the bartender two twenty dollar
bills, the bartender doesn’t even
offer change, and goes right into making
the drink with flair.

ANGEL
Wow, that was neat.

SHAWN
Let’s get a table. They move to a
corner table.

ANGEL
Wow I wish I had my camera, I think
the entire Senators team is here,
and half of the Yankees. It is
amazing to me that they play like
they did tonight and then go out to
the same bar.

SHAWN
It is just a job to these guys.

ANGEL
And it’s not to you?

SHAWN
Sure it is a job, but it’s much
more than that. I haven’t even
reached the majors yet, so I’m not
blinded by all of the money.

The live band in the corner slows the music down, and Shawn
looks at Angel

SHAWN
Would you like to dance?

ANGEL
I would love to.

They walk to the dance floor and begin dancing.

SHAWN
So who is this mystery man I have
heard so little about.

ANGEL
His name is Charles and he is
stockbroker in New York.

SHAWN
Oh, rich guy?

ANGEL
Hardly, he only started, but he is
with one of the biggest investment
firms in the city, entry level.

SHAWN
So he is minor leaguer too, sounds
like we have a few things in
common.

ANGEL
You do, I think you two would get
along great.

SHAWN
So how did you two meet?

ANGEL
Well we worked in the same office
building, before I started with
S.I., I worked at a sleazy
tabloid…

SHAWN
Oh, now I know why you asked that
question, second nature, huh?

ANGEL (chuckles and rolls her eyes)
Anyway, he asked me out for coffee
and the rest is history.

Shawn looks over Angel’s shoulder in the direction of the door
to see Megan entering with the male model guy.

SHAWN
Oh, great, Megan’s here.

ANGEL
Don’t worry, I got it covered.

Megan walks up to Shawn and Angel and she is already
stumbling as she greets them with a laugh.

MEGAN
Shawn…how are you doing?

SHAWN
Fine.

MEGAN
Why are you here?

SHAWN
It’s a bar, Megan, I’m drinking.

MEGAN
Who’s your little friend, a wannabe
model?

ANGEL
My name is Angel and I am reporter
for Sports Illustrated. Who’s your
friend, a wannabe man?

MEGAN
Listen bitch, this doesn’t concern
you.

ANGEL
No you listen, bitch, you are no
longer with Shawn so this, right
here, doesn’t concern you.

Megan and the male model turn and walk to the bar, and she
turns her heel on the way, everyone starts laughing at her.

ANGEL
What do you say we get out of here
before I throw up?

EXT. SIDEWALK — NIGHT

A yellow cab pulls to a stop next to a small narrow row
house which is red brick with eggshell trim, it extends
three stories with a balcony on the roof.

The passenger side rear door opens and Angel slides out
first then followed by Shawn.

He walks her up the steps to the front door. She reaches out and
gives him a hug, and a kiss on the cheek.

ANGEL
Thank you for such a fun evening. I
really needed that.

SHAWN
No, thank you, I was the one in
need of cheering up.

ANGEL
Well, I guess I will see you later,
I have to get up early in the
morning, but how about some lunch
tomorrow.

SHAWN
Sure, how about 11:30.

ANGEL
You know anyplace nice.

SHAWN
I think know a couple.

ANGEL
Goodnight.

SHAWN
Good…night.

He turns and walks down the steps , stopping halfway,
hands in his pockets looks over his
shoulder and sees that she is watching him, he shrugs and
gets in the cab.

She watches it as it disappears down the street.

INT. BEN’S OFFICE — DAY

Ben sits behind his desk with a young beautiful woman on his
side with a short skirt suit on.

She takes notes on a legal pad. She is early twenties, with
blond hair and firm build. Her name is HOLLY MURPHY, she is
his secretary.

Shawn knocks on the door frame of the open door, and Ben waves
him in.

Holly pats the desk as she walks away. She doesn’t give
Shawn a second look, just moves past him.

Shawn struts over to his friend’s desk and sits in a brown leather
chair.

SHAWN
Who was that?

BEN
My new secretary.

SHAWN
And…

BEN
And, what?

SHAWN
What’s her name? When did she
start, and why haven’t you told me
about her?

BEN
Her name is Holly and she started
about a week ago, and I didn’t know
that who I hire for a secretarial
position was something that would interest
you.

SHAWN
Come on, Ben, she’s hot, of course
I would be interested.

BEN
You are starting to hang around Kenny to much.
What can I do for you?

SHAWN
Any news?

BEN
Nothing in a few days. How did last
night go?

SHAWN
Fine, why? You know she has a
fiancé and I’m not that kind of
guy.

Shawn gets up and walks around Ben’s desk to look out of the
big picture window.

SHAWN
I ran into Megan last night, with
Angel.

BEN
What happened?

SHAWN
She was being a bitch, as usual.
But you know, I don’t care how mean
and hateful she can be at times, I
have seen her for who she is and I know
in my heart that who she’s
pretending to be now, isn’t who she
is.

BEN
Maybe the person that you thought
she was is the person she’s not.
What are you doing for lunch, I
have reservation’s at Murice’s.

SHAWN
I am picking Angel up for lunch at
11:30.

BEN
Take my reservations, I think she
would like Murice’s.

SHAWN
I couldn’t do that, it must have
been hard to get them.

BEN
Sure, but Abigail has a doctor
appointment today and can’t make
it. They’ll just go to waste if you
don’t use them.

SHAWN
If you insist, but I have to get
going if I’m going to make it, I’m
not really dressed for the
occasion.

Shawn reaches out and hugs his friend, and walks out of the office,
meeting Holly in the doorway.

EXT. ANGEL’S OFFICE — DAY

Shawn waits by the steps in front of her office building.
The steps leading to the front door are long and steep.

People are beginning to gather on them to eat lunch, the
ones that bring a sack lunch.

Through the big glass doors walks Angel, lovely with her
hair pulled up in a ponytail.

She waves at Shawn as she pushes the door open.

Shawn notices that she holds it open for a man following
her.

He doesn’t recognize him. He wears an expensive suit and carries
a briefcase.

They are with out a doubt having a conversation.

As she reaches Shawn near the bottom of the steps she
realizes something, suddenly hitting herself in the head with the palm
of her hand.

ANGEL
We were having lunch today, right?

SHAWN
Yeah.

ANGEL
I’m sorry, I forgot.

SHAWN
No big deal.

ANGEL
This is my fiancé, Charles Butler.

CHARLES
(holding out his hand)
Nice to meet you, I have only been
in for about an hour and I feel as
though I know you already.

SHAWN
(shaking his hand)
I have heard a lot about you as
well.

ANGEL
Charles is only in town for the day
and I promised him I would spend
the day with him. I got off work
and everything.

SHAWN
Hey, listen, its not a big deal.

CHARLES
Your more than welcome to join us
for lunch.

SHAWN
No, you guys spend the day
together, you don’t get alone time
very much.

ANGEL
Now, what are going to do?

SHAWN
I’ll hit the batting cage or
something, don’t you worry about me.

ANGEL
I’ll see you later?

SHAWN
Sure.

Angel leans in and gives Shawn a hug and then she makes her way
to the curb with Charles following behind.

They hail a cab and they are gone.

INT. BEN’S HOUSE — DAY

Ben and Abigail are throwing another party, this time it is
a Bar-B-Que.

Everyone is there.

Abigail, Angel and Nicole are in the kitchen cooking side dishes
and the guys are outside on the patio near the grill.

The girls are standing around the island gossiping.

NICOLE
So have you and Shawn kissed yet.

ANGEL
NO!, I have a fiancé whom I love
very much.

ABIGAIL
Yeah but he is hot.

ANGEL
We’re just friends.

NICOLE
I’ve kissed friends before, and I
have to say that none of them were
that hot.

ANGEL
Okay, I would like to, but I’m,…

NICOLE
You’re, what?

ANGEL
Nothing.

ABIGAIL
Come on you can tell us.

ANGEL
Its, just that, I’m…not a slut
like you guys.

NICOLE
Bitch.

They laugh and slap her with towels.

EXT. BEN’S HOUSE — DAY

The guys stand around the grill also gossiping. They are trying
to get the grill lit, but it is giving them trouble.

The steaks are sitting on a table near the grill, raw.

KENNY
So have you… ya’ know, yet.

SHAWN
Since when have you been at a loss
for words?

KENNY
Come on, so have you?

BEN
Kenny, what have I told you about
this kind of behavior?

KENNY
I just have to know, look her, she
is freaking hot. That ponytail is
great, when did she start wearing a
ponytail. And those glasses she has
on, Jesus Christ.

SHAWN
Dude, calm down. No I haven’t and I
don’t think I would tell you even
if I had.

KENNY
Why?

SHAWN
Never mind. When are you going to
get that thing lit I am starving
and it looks like the girls almost
have their part of the work done.

The fire flares up.

BEN
Here we go.

Angel walks out the sliding door and over to Shawn.

INT. SHAWN’S APARTMENT — MORNING

Shawn lays in his bed all stretched out, snoring.

The phone breaks the silence startling him awake.

The phone rings a second time and the machine picks up and
it is Angel on the other end.

ANGEL
Hey, if you’re there, pick up, I
have a surprise for you. Shawn
rolls over and grabs the phone.

SHAWN
(barely awake)
Yeah?

ANGEL
Please tell me you have absolutely
nothing to do today.

SHAWN
I have absolutely nothing to do
today, except sleep.

ANGEL
Get up, I have an extra press pass
for the game today and I would like
you to come.

SHAWN
(now awake)
Sure, I have to take a shower and
get dressed but I can meet you
there in an hour.

ANGEL
Gate 4.

EXT. STADIUM, GATE 4 — DAY

Angel is waiting by the gate when Shawn surprises her from around
a corner.

He is like a kid going to his first major league ball game.

SHAWN
So, how close will we be?

ANGEL
Real close.

Angel walks up to the older man working the gate and flashes the
press passes and he waves them through.

Shawn follows her closely as she weaves in and out of the crowd,
kids in a mile long line to buy a ball a park wiener and
adults in an equally long line to buy an overpriced beer.

She finally stops at a big heavy door with a magnetic strip swiper
for a lock. She runs the press pass and Shawn could hear it
unlock.

When the door opens it reveals stairs leading down, Angel enters
and Shawn follows.

They descend the stairs until the only light that can be
seen comes from the florescent track lighting that runs
on the ceiling.

At the bottom of the steps there appears a long hallway with a
bright light at the end and doors all down both sides, none
of which are marked as to what they are.

They make their way up the slight incline toward the light.

When they reach the end Shawn realizes that it is the field. As
he exits the corridor he looks to his left and sees that he
is in the home team dugout.

SHAWN
This is great. Thank you so much,
this is a dream come true.

ANGEL
No it’s not.

SHAWN
What do you mean.

ANGEL
Your dream is to be here as a
player, and it will happen, I’ve
watched you play, but this is as
close as I could get you. The rest
is up to you.

EXT. ANGEL’S APARTMENT — NIGHT

The two sit on her steps of the building talking, sitting close.

SHAWN
Being in the dugout today really
made the dream seem closer than
ever.

ANGEL
It is close, I can feel it.

SHAWN
I would love it, you know, what it
would be like to live your dream. I
have wanted to do this for as long
as I can remember. Playing ball in an
empty field with homemade bases and
a worn out balls and gloves. The
first glove I ever played with was
my stepfathers. He gave it to me
when I mentioned to my mom that I
wanted to learn how to play. I have
played a lot of big games since
that afternoon but nothing
compares.

ANGEL
Someday you’ll find a game that
compares.

SHAWN
I hope.

ANGEL
Would you like to come up for a
drink?

SHAWN
Sure, but what about Charles.

ANGEL
It’s just a drink.

SHAWN
I thought you meant a drink.

INT. ANGEL’S APARTMENT — NIGHT

Shawn and Angel are sitting on her couch with a wine glass apiece.

They sit close and Angel has her head on his shoulder. They are
watching ESPN as Sports Center recaps the game they were
just at.

Angel leans forward to the table were the half empty bottle of
red wine is sitting and grasps the bottle by the neck.

ANGEL
Would you like another?

SHAWN
Sure.

Angel pours him another glass and they linger, hold each others
stare for a moment and lean in, slow, and finally their
noses touch. Mouths almost there.

SHAWN
I thought this was just a drink.

ANGEL
It was.

They finish moving in and their lips touch. It is a soft, passionate
kiss that lasts only seconds.

Angel pulls back, sets the bottle on the table and reaches for
Shawn’s shirt.

She finds the bottom of it and pulls it over his head. Then she
grabs the bottom of her shirt and pulls it slowly over the
top of her head, revealing her blue lacy bra.

They move to her bedroom were she falls, pulling him to the bed
on top of her.

Leave a comment