Hometown

 

h

it is a warm meal
it is a cold pillow
there is no place like it
and you can always go back
It is sweet
and your heart stays there
they are forgiving, yet
hold you to a standard
Home

Hometowns are what form us. Good or bad they influence what we become. Some can’t wait to leave, some never do, and a few leave and realize there is no place like home.

Dexter is located 160 miles south of St. Louis in the southeast Missouri on what is known as Crowley’s Ridge. Crowley’s Ridge is a 150 mile long uplifting that starkly contrasts the flat plains of the Mississippi Alluvial Plain and runs from Cape Girardeau in the north to Helena Arkansas in the south. Dexter sets about 50 miles south of Cape Girardeau.

Founded in 1873 it sets in the middle of Stoddard County and has the largest population in the county at nearly 8,000.

9 thoughts on “Hometown

  1. My family moved around a lot, so I don’t feel like I really have a hometown. However, anytime I go back to visit my parents (wherever they’ve landed) I feel this way…good post!

  2. As I’ve gotten older, I love my hometown. I go back for a visit 3-4 times year. In fact, I leave tomorrow for a month long stay in Montana.

Leave a Reply

