One year and many more to come

Nearly one year ago I went on a road trip with a friend who is a journalist and we got to talking about writing and how I wished there was some way for me to find an audience for my writings and my poetry. He said to me, “have you ever thought of blogging?” I hadn’t, in fact the word never crossed my mind and I never envisioned the great authors and poets  blogging. What would Hemingway’s blog look like or Tolstoy, or Woolf or Whitman. Would e.e. Cummings have a blog about his culinary adventures during his time in Paris. I thought not. But the more I got to thinking about it the more I realized that I wasn’t them and now wasn’t then.

Today’s market is different than theirs and for me the main goal of a writer is to be read, because without that what is the point. I believe I have achieved that goal because I have made several friends and meant hundreds of people throughout my year here and I am grateful for each and every one. With out that little grain of an idea planted into my head by a dear friend that grew into a nearly 200 post blog I don’t believe I would be where I am today. I owe a lot to him. Granted I still don’t have a million dollar contract but I am happy writing everyday and sharing my crazy world with all of you other crazy people.

I have a lot going on and a lot planned for this blog so hope that people stick with me. In honor of my one year anniversary I am going to challenge myself with the A-to-Z challenge more than likely it will be a poetry challenge for me because I have focused recently on my fiction, primarily The Perfect 200 series and the Pine Bluff Mystery Series.

I hope to see you all for at least another year,
Hughie

Here is the link the challenge if anyone else is interested in joining me.

Leave a Reply

