Batting A Thousand, Act II Part I

INT. ANGEL’S APARTMENT — NIGHT

Shawn and Angel are sitting on her couch with a wine glass apiece.

They sit close and Angel has her head on his shoulder. They are

watching ESPN as Sports Center recaps the game they were

just at.

Angel leans forward to the table were the half empty bottle of

red wine is sitting and grasps the bottle by the neck.

ANGEL

Would you like another?

SHAWN

Sure.

Angel pours him another glass and they linger, hold each others

stare for a moment and lean in, slow, and finally their

noses touch. Mouths almost there.

SHAWN

I thought this was just a drink.

ANGEL

It was.

They finish moving in and their lips touch. It is a soft, passionate

kiss that lasts only seconds.

Angel pulls back, sets the bottle on the table and reaches for

Shawn’s shirt.

She finds the bottom of it and pulls it over his head. Then she

grabs the bottom of her shirt and pulls it slowly over the

top of her head, revealing her blue lacy bra.

They move to her bedroom were she falls, pulling him to the bed

on top of her.

EXT. PARK — DAY

A bench sits next to a small pond with a fountain in the middle.

Shawn and Angel sit on a blanket thrown on the ground.

On the blanket sits a picnic basket and paper plates with sandwiches

on them.  A bottle of wine sits in the middle with two

plastic cups filled up and sitting next to the plates.

ANGEL

So you aren’t weirded out about the

other night are you?

SHAWN

No, why would I be?

ANGEL

I don’t know, we just weren’t

supposed to do that.

SHAWN

It seemed right though, didn’t it?

ANGEL

Yeah, it kind of did. But I am

still engaged to Charles.

SHAWN

I know.

ANGEL

Maybe in a different time.

They look out at the pond.

Shawn takes a drink of his wine.

SHAWN

It was good sex though, right?

ANGEL

(laughing)

Yes, it was very good.

Angel takes a drink of her wine.

ANGEL

Was it good for you?

SHAWN

Oh my God, I have never had any

that good before.(laughs)

ANGEL

It was pretty average wasn’t it?

SHAWN

Yeah, but even average sex is good

sex.

Angel takes another drink and looks at her watch.

ANGEL

Oh shit, I have to go.  I have to

get back to work.

She jumps up and pulls Shawn up with her.

ANGEL

Thank you for lunch, we will have

to do it again.

SHAWN

Still no dates, huh?

ANGEL

I would love to, but you know.

She gives him a peck on the cheek and walks away.  She looks

over her shoulder a few steps into her journey back to work

and blows him a kiss.

Shawn chuckles and begins to pick up the blanket.

INT. SHAWN’S APARTMENT — DAY

Shawn is fresh out of the shower, he has a towel around him and

is dripping wet.

He talks into a speaker phone, he is in his bedroom and looking

through his closet.

SHAWN

I know, Ben, but I really like her.

BEN

But she hasn’t broken up with her

fian…Charles.

SHAWN

She shouldn’t, we’re just friends.

BEN

No matter what Kenny says, friends

shouldn’t do what you guys did.

SHAWN

You seem a little touchy, buddy.

BEN

Well, you guys are both my friends

and I don’t want to see either one

of you guys get hurt.

SHAWN

No one is going to get hurt, we

both know what happened was a one

time thing. Something that won’t

happen again.

BEN

I don’t like it. What are you doing

tonight, I have an extra ticket to

the hockey game.

SHAWN

Angel and I are going to a play and

then out to dinner.

BEN

Shit.

Buzz, Buzz. The intercom system goes off and Shawn moves to the

speaker on his wall. He pushes a button.

SHAWN

Come on up.

(Back to the Phone)

That is her now and I haven’t

gotten dressed yet so I have to go.

I will talk to you tomorrow, enjoy

the game.

BEN

Shawn I really think you should

stop and think about what your

do…

Shawn doesn’t let him finish before he pushes a button on

the phone and disconnects him. Shawn is getting dressed when

he hears a woman’s voice behind him but it’s not Angel, it

is Megan.

MEGAN

I had forgotten how nice your ass

is.

Shawn is startled and throws his towel back around himself with

his pants halfway up. She moves over to him and wraps her

arms around him and begins to kiss him.

His towel falls to the floor.

Angel stands in the doorway, she sees Megan kissing Shawn

and him not stopping her, and she doesn’t say anything, she

just leaves, quietly.

EXT. PARK — NOON

The three friends stand in batting cages, all side by side. Balls

fly at them at ninety miles an hour and Shawn is the only

one connecting with the ball at all.

For several seconds the three continue to bat away. Finally Ben

drops his bat and walks to the edge of his cage.

BEN

Shawn you know you fucked things up

with Angel, right.

SHAWN

We didn’t have anything to fuck up.

BENÂ

You guys were once friends, and you

know she liked you.

SHAWN

She never told me how she felt and

the fact the Charles is still

around should be proof enough that

she doesn’t have any interest in

me. And besides, she’s the one that

never showed the other night.

BEN

You are a fucking idiot. She saw

you with Megan, nearly naked.

SHAWN

Fuck, you know that I never

intended to be naked with Megan, I

thought it was Angel at the door.

It doesn’t matter now anyway. Megan

is the one I am supposed to be

with. I have known that for years.

BEN

Yeah, well are you the one she is

supposed to be with?

Ben turns and walks away, leaving the batting cage in

INT. SMALL CAFE — DAY

Angel, Abigail and Nicole are at a small table sipping on wine,

except Nicole has a water.

Flowers are everywhere and the colorfulness of spring can be seen

out the window from fruit and flower vendors line the

street.

ABIGAIL

You know that isn’t how Shawn is. I

am sure there is a reasonable

explanation for what happened.

ANGEL

I don’t need an explanation. He

told me from the first time we met

that he was in love with her, no

matter how wrong she is for him. He also

had no reason to not be with her.

We don’t, nor did we, have a relationship

beyond that of a professional and

platonic nature.

NICOLE

(pretending like she is

coughing)

BULLSHIT!!

ANGEL

Just because we made an error in

judgment one night doesn’t mean

that we had anything emotionally

invested in it.

ABIGAIL

You care for him I can see it in

your eyes.

ANGEL

I have a Fiancé and he is wonderful

to me.

NICOLE

That doesn’t mean that you love

him, or should.

ABIGAIL

Do you?

ANGEL

I have to be going, I have an

interview in an hour.

She stands and throws some money on the table and walks away from

the conversation.

INT. BEN’S OFFICE — DAY

Ben sits at his computer, not working just staring at the screen

when his secretary comes over the intercom on his phone.

HOLLY

Ben, there is call on line two for

you. A Mr. Schumacher.

Ben comes to life. He sits erect.

BEN

Put him through.

He picks up the phone.

BEN

Hello sir… I’m doing fine, how

may I help you today? … Oh,

yes… sure, I will let him know.

No, he will be there first thing in

the morning. No, thank you.

Ben stands up and hangs up the phone, pushing a button.

Holly opens the door to the office.

HOLLY

Yes sir.

BEN

Would you get Shawn in here please,

I need to speak to him before I

leave today.

HOLLY

Yes sir.

INT. BEN’S OFFICE — DUSK

Ben sits behind his desk again when there is a rap on his door.

BEN

Come in.

The door opens and Shawn stands just outside.

He comes in and sits in the chair in front of Ben.

SHAWN

What is it, buddy? Holly said that

it was important.

BEN

It is. I have some good news and

some bad news.

SHAWN

Give me the bad first.

BEN

You will be taking some time off of

the Roosters.

SHAWN

Okay, the good news?

BEN

I got a call from Marvin Schumacher

this afternoon and they what you to

come play for the Senators.

SHAWN

For good?

BEN

It will be for a trail period. St.

John has an inflamed muscle in his

throwing arm. They want you to

replace Vaughn at first and moving him

to Left. Just until his arm heals.

SHAWN

That’s great news, my chance.

He stands and walks over to the picture window that looks

out over the city.

SHAWN

This is crazy, Ben. My dreams are

coming true. Shouldn’t I be

excited?

BEN

It just hasn’t settled in yet. You

will be.

SHAWN

I should call Angel and let her

know, I think she would like to

know.

BEN

I bet she already does.

INT. LOBBY OF AN OFFICE BUILDING — DUSK

Angel sits with her pen and paper in front of her talking to a

tall man with a dark complexion.

It is ST. JOHN. They are talking and she writing notes down.

ANGEL

So, do you know who will be taking

your spot in the line up, and is

this going to affect the alleged

trade deal from a couple of weeks

ago.

ST. JOHN

I was told that they where bringing

up a minor leaguer, Mallory, I

believe, and I can’t comment on the

trade deal.

ANGEL

Shawn Mallory?

ST. JOHN

Yeah, that’s him.

ANGEL

Thank you I think that is all,

again, thank you for your time.

She quickly leaves fumbling with her cell phone trying to place

a call.

EXT. BASEBALL STADIUM — DAY

Shawn stands  in the batters box at the stadium taking

An older man walks up to him, he is the manager of the Senators,

BOBBY WINFIELD. And he is carrying a uniform.

WINFIELD

Here boy, put this on. You may need

it for tonight. Nervous yet?

SHAWN

A little, sir.

WINFIELD

Have you thrown up yet?

SHAWN

No sir.

WINFIELD

Then your doing better than me on

first day. I didn’t even get to

practice because I spent the first

two days in the bathroom.

SHAWN

It’s still early, sir.

WINFIELD

Look around you boy, tonight there

won’t be an empty seat in the

house.

Shawn begins to scan the bleachers. They are all empty as he

moves around the stadium the view changes from day to night

and the seats are all full.

EXT. BASEBALL STADIUM — NIGHT

The crowd is roaring and standing on their feet. Shawn stands

at the plate. He is visibly nervous, tugging at his shirt

and messing with his helmet.

He can hear the roar of the crowd and is focused on the pitcher

standing on the mound in front of him.

He watches as the pitcher winds up and delivers the first

pitch and he watches it go by.

UMPIRE

STRIKE ONE!!

Shawn steps out of the box and rocks his head back and forth trying

to relax a little.

He steps back in.

The pitcher again winds up and delivers.

This time he swings missing it completely.

UMPIRE

STRIKE TWO!!

Shawn doesn’t move this time, he stays in the box ready for

the pitch.

He waits and the pitcher winds up and throws, Shawn blinks

and the ball is by him again.

UMPIRE

BALL ONE!

Again he stays steady waiting for the pitch and it comes.

Shawn swings and the ball is coming at him in slow motion.

He swings with everything he has and connects.

The ball flies deep into right field and Shawn takes off

like a rocket, running to first base, but hears the umpire.

UMPIRE

OUT!!

Shawn turns on the baseline and heads to the dug out. Winfield

stands at the steps waiting on the young player. As Shawn

jogs past him he pats him on the back.

WINFIELD

No problem, your first one is out

of the way.

The scoreboard shows that it is the second inning 0-0 it

transitions to bottom of the ninth visitors winning 6-4.

Back to the dug out and Shawn heads to the plate.

WINFIELD

Man on first and third, Vaughn is fast so a double should

tie it up.

Shawn jogs to the plate.

A new pitcher is on the mound.

Shawn again is very nervous. He wiggles the bat as the

pitcher winds up and throws the ball.

Shawn swings and connects but doesn’t move.

UMPIRE

HOMERUN!!

Shawn jumps up in the air and runs around the bases.

His teammates meet him at he plate and carry him off of the

field. He sees Winfield standing by the dug out.

WINFIELD

Or a homer will work too. Nice work

son.

INT. BEN’S OFFICE — MORNING

Shawn enters in a nice suit.

He sits in his usual chair in front of Ben’s desk and

relaxes until he is slouching in the big leather seat.

BEN

How are you doing?

SHAWN

Been busy. Seven road games will

take it out of you.

BEN

Well I have some good news. The

Senators want to offer you a full

contract, two million for two

years, that’s pretty good for a

rookie.

SHAWN

I’ll take it. I guess I shouldn’t

argue, that is a lot of money for

something I would do for free.

BEN

Your damn right it is.

SHAWN

How is Abigail doing I haven’t seen

her since I got picked up.

BEN

Great. Kenny and Nicole have been

scheduled a date for an inducement.

Two weeks.

SHAWN

I’ll be at home, I’ll have to come

by. How is Angel doing, I haven’t

seen her in a while either?

BEN

Good, I guess I haven’t seen her

either but her and Abigail are

keeping in touch. How is Megan.

SHAWN

Good… I probably need to be going,

it was good seeing you, next week

for lunch, we’re still on right.

BEN

Yep. How about I walk you out,

Kenny and I are going to work out,

you can join us if you would like.

SHAWN

No, Megan and I are going for

lunch. I haven’t seen her in a week

either.

EXT. BEN’S OFFICE — NOON

Shawn and Ben walk out of the front door when Megan pulls up

in a new red sports car, convertible, top down.

She looks beautiful in it, fits her well.

SHAWN

You like it?

BEN

Yeah.

SHAWN

Bought it this morning. I was

worried about the payments, but I

guess I don’t have to now, isn’t

that right?

BEN

No I guess not. I’ll see you next

week. Good luck on the diamond buddy.

Shawn jumps over the door and into the seat, and waves as Megan

speeds away.

INT. FANCY RESTAURANT — EVENING

Shawn and Megan stand just on the other side of a glass

door, he wears a designer suit and she wears a designer

dress.

They enter a nice restaurant and walk up to the maitre d where

Shawn leans on the podium and looks the small man in eye.

SHAWN

Two for Mallory

MAITRE D

Sure, right this way Mr. Mallory

They follow the man to a small table near the back of the

dining room when they are met by Angel and Charles walking out.

Angel reaches out and gives him a hug.

ANGEL

Shawn, it is so nice to see you.

How have you been?

SHAWN

Good, living the dream.

ANGEL

I know I have been watching. Good

stats. Too bad you haven’t played

all year, ESPN thinks you would

have been rookie of the year.

SHAWN

Yeah, well, I am having fun.

ANGEL

You remember Charles?

SHAWN

Sure, nice to see you again. And I

guess you remember Megan.

ANGEL

Yes.

MAITRE D

Sir your table is this way.

SHAWN

I guess I better be going before

they give my table away.

ANGEL

(whispering)

You wouldn’t be missing much.

They hug again and walk their separate ways.

INT. SHAWN AND MAEGAN’S APARTMENT — NIGHT

The two are sitting on the couch watching television, actually

he is flipping channels.

He is bumming in his t-shirt and jeans.

She has on a sweats outfit, probably just done working out.

SHAWN

What do you say we catch a movie.

MEGAN

Look at me, I can’t go out like

this. But go if you want, I’ll

catch up on some reading.

SHAWN

Huh, a model that can read, that’s

unbelievable.

MEGAN

Shut up.

SHAWN

Come on, we can catch a Nicholas

Sparks book turned into a movie. I’m

sure there is one out.

MEGAN

There is, but I know it won’t be as

good as the book.

SHAWN

They never are. Then we can catch

the latest Rock movie.

MEGAN

Hum, you are a mans man.

SHAWN

What, Kenny says he’s a good actor.

MEGAN

What does Kenny know, if they don’t

have tits and ass he probably

doesn’t even know who they are.

SHAWN

Come on we haven’t been out in a

while.

MEGAN

We’re both famous now, we can’t

afford to go out. Everyone will

look at us and wonder why we’re not

watching in our private theater,

when are we getting that anyway.

SHAWN

Fine I will go by myself. Don’t

wait up.

MEGAN

I won’t.

Leave a Reply

