Batting a thousand Act II part 2

wpid-54969518.png

INT. MOVIE THEATER — NIGHT

Shawn is still in his t-shirt and jeans as he walks up to

the counter and in front of him he sees Angel.

She appears to be alone.

He reaches in front of him and taps her on the shoulder.

She turns around and smiles.

       ANGEL

      Hey, what are you doing here?

      SHAWN

    I came to buy a car, I think I’m in the

     wrong place.

    ANGEL

    Ha, Ha, what are you coming to see?

SHAWN

I thought about the new Nicholas

Sparks movie but I don’t know.

ANGEL

I heard it was awful, I got a

ticket to the new Rock movie, you

should join me.

SHAWN

Ha,

ANGEL

What?

SHAWN

Nothing, sorry

(to the cashier)

I’ll take one for the one she is

seeing.

The man takes the money and gives him a ticket.

They walk to the concession counter and buy some candy and

popcorn, when they are blinded by flashes. When Shawn looks

up all he sees is a man running away with a camera in his

hand.

SHAWN

Bastards.

ANGEL

Come on you know you love it, you

haven’t had it happen long enough

to bother you yet.

SHAWN

Yeah, I kind of like it.

They make their way down the hallway and into the theater

and find their seats.

INT. SHAWN AND MEGAN’S APARTMENT — MORNING

The alarm clock wakes Shawn from his sleep and he rolls out of

bed.

He stubbles down the hallway to the kitchen where he finds Megan

sitting at the kitchen table with a cup of coffee and a

paper in front of her.

It is obviously a tabloid.

He pauses in the doorway and runs his fingers through his hair.

He moves to the fridge and opens the door.

He pulls out the milk and takes a drink from the carton.

MEGAN

I wish you wouldn’t do that

SHAWN

Sorry, you don’t drink it anyway.

MEGAN

What is this shit?

She tosses the paper at him.

He looks at the picture on the cover and sees him at the concession

stand with Angel.

SHAWN

It is two friends watching a movie.

MEGAN

No you two were not just friends.

SHAWN

You don’t know what we were. And if

I remember correctly you were the

one who left me.

MEGAN

Yeah well I am back.

SHAWN

Me too. That is the end of this

conversation.

MEGAN

I would like it if you didn’t see

her anymore.

SHAWN

I would like it if you didn’t work with

Brody anymore.

MEGAN

His name is Adrian, and I don’t

have a choice about who I work

with.

SHAWN

Then this discussion is over. I

have to go to practice.

EXT. BEN’S HOME — DAY

Ben is having another barbecue at his house.

The whole gang is in attendance again.

This time with an addition. Nicole and Kenny have had their

baby, a little boy.

Kenny holds him showing him off to everyone.

Ben and Shawn are sitting at a table outside with a beer in

front of them.

BEN

You have been on fire. I think this is

probably the best I have seen you play.

SHAWN

Yeah, well, I have been lucky.

BEN

What’s up, you seem down today.

SHAWN

I got into it with Megan yesterday

about Angel. And now she is here.

BEN

What is the problem. I thought you

two were over.

SHAWN

We are. I ran into her at the movie

theater the other day and we sat

together.

BEN

So what is the big deal?

SHAWN

That was my point. I love Megan,

and she was the one that done me

wrong, I have given her no reason

to not trust me.

BEN

Maybe she thinks your going to

retaliate for what she did to you.

SHAWN

I’m not that kind of guy, Ben, and

I would hope that the woman I asked

to marry me knows me better than

that.

BEN

She did say no.

SHAWN

Don’t remind me. I better be going,

I don’t want this to turn ugly.

BEN

The food isn’t even done yet.

SHAWN

Sorry. I have to make it work this

time.

Shawn gets up and leaves only to meet Angel in the doorway.

They pass glances, and he moves on.

Angel sits next to Ben at the table.

ANGEL

What is his problem.

BEN

He was reamed by Megan when the

pictures of you two at the movies

made the tabloids and he wants to

avoid another fight.

ANGEL

Sure, I understand. Charles wasn’t too

happy either.

BEN

How are you two doing?

ANGEL

Fine I guess, the wedding is on

hold. He said that he wasn’t quite

ready since we are so far apart

now.

INT. GYM — DAY

The three guys are working out like normal. Shawn lays on

the bench and Ben is spotting him and Kenny is standing off

to the side checking out the women.

SHAWN

Kenny, your wife just had a baby

for Christ’s sake, do you think you

could stop being a creep for one

hour.

KENNY

Sorry, you are starting to sound

like Ben.

SHAWN

So anyway, even after I left the

other day, I still ended up in an

argument with Megan, over something

that didn’t even happen.

BEN

I don’t know what to tell you. I

can’t say that I would leave because the

truth is I probably wouldn’t.

SHAWN

I wonder what would have happened

had I not let Megan in that night.

The fact is that Angel was, and

still is, with Charles, and I can’t

do that to a guy, even if I don’t

know him.

BEN

For once, I don’t have any advice.

If this was about baseball I could

help you, but when it comes to the

game of love, man, I am just as

fucked up as anybody.

SHAWN

No, you guys have it great, I just

hope I can find something like you

and Abigail have. Even half that

would be great.

BEN

Its not that pretty on the inside.

SHAWN

What have I been missing?

BEN

Maybe some other time. Right now this

is about you.

KENNY

I am no expert either, but I think

that you won’t be happy until you

do what your heart tells you. Its

talking, just listen, it won’t lead

you in the wrong direction.

BEN

Listen to this asshole, for once the

fucker actually has some good

advice.

EXT. BASEBALL STADIUM — NIGHT

The lights are shining bright as Shawn steps up to the

plate.

He faces the same pitcher as his first time at bat in the majors.

He watches as the pitcher winds up and delivers.

He swings and misses the first pitch.

He looks up at the scoreboard. 0-0.

The pitcher winds up and throws the ball again.

Shawn swings and connects with it, it flies down the left field line

but stays fair and bounces into the corner.

He runs toward first, rounding it heading to second. He

stops on second base.

A runner scores. 0-1

Shawn stands on second and he watches the third base couch

and Shawn nods.

The pitcher delivers and the ball bounces behind the catcher

as Shawn takes off stealing third.

The batter hit’s the next pitch into short right to get a

base hit and Shawn scores. 0-2

The next batter is up and the pitcher delivers a pitch that is called

a strike.

The batter backs up relaxes and steps back in.

He then swings at the next pitch and connects into a pop up

and is out.

Fade into:

Shawn stands at the plate again when he looks up the score

board. Fourth inning, 2-2.

The pitcher winds up and delivers a stunning fastball in and low,

ball one.

Then he delivers a sinker, ball two.

Shawn steps back, relaxes and steps back in.

The pitcher throws another fastball low and outside, ball three.

Shawn steps out again. He looks at Winfield standing in the

dug out, he is pointing at the bleachers. Shawn steps back

in. The pitch comes and Shawn swings at it goes deep, real

deep.

He runs toward first only to see it get caught by the centerfielder.

Fade into:

Shawn standing at first with his glove and there is a runner

on first leading off.

He looks up at the scoreboard. Top of the ninth, one out and

2-2, he watches as the pitcher delivers a fast ball and the

batter swings and hits right to Shawn.

He catches it and tags the runner and tosses the ball to the

pitcher covering first to get the batter out. Double play.

He runs back to the dug out and sees Winfield.

WINFIELD

Your up Mallory. All we need is one

run and we’re in the playoffs. No

pressure.

He pats him on the back as Shawn heads to the plate.

Shawn watches as the pitcher sits up.

He throws and the ball goes right by him. Strike one.

He stretches his neck and waggles his bat.

Pitch two comes and it is another fastball down the middle. Strike two.

He steps out and then right back in.

The pitcher releases the pitch and Shawn swings connecting

and he just drops the bat.

He watches it fly out of the park. Disappearing in the

lights of the stadium. They made it.

INT. SHAWN AND MEGAN’S APARTMENT — NIGHT

Shawn lays on the couch, relaxing from a hard night.

He wears only a pair of boxers, with a beer on the table in front

of him.

He flops his feet on the table and turns on the television

with the remote.

The lights go dim and Megan peeks her head around a corner.

She has her hand on the light switch, she is being very

seductive.

Shawn can see the pink teddy hanging down, way above the

knee as she throws her leg out.

As she steps from behind the wall, he can see her perfect

body, nearly all of it, in the dim light.

She walks toward him like she is on the runway.

He drops the remote as she nears him, and he kicks the beer

over. As she steps over the spilling beer.

She slides the straps off of her teddy and it falls into the

liquid.

She straddles him and puts her hands on his face. And kisses

him softly.

MEGAN

Shawn?

SHAWN

Yeah?

MEGAN

I love you.

SHAWN

I love yo……u too.

MEGAN

Shawn, remember when you gave me

the ring and I turned you down?

SHAWN

How could I forget.

MEGAN

I want to apologize for that.

SHAWN

You hurt me, but you were honest

and you should be. Maybe not that

brutal, but honest.

MEGAN

I think I am ready.

SHAWN

Ready for what?

MEGAN

You know, to be married. You are

well on your way as far as your

career goes and I have a steady gig

with Michael modeling his

lingerie.

SHAWN

Is that one of his pieces, because

I like it a lot. Tell him thank you

for me.

They start kissing and rubbing each other. Shawn pulls away

and looks at her.

SHAWN

But do you love me more then you

did then?

MEGAN

I have always loved you Shawn.

SHAWN

Then why weren’t the Roster’s good

enough.

MEGAN

This has nothing to do with

baseball, Shawn. She rolls off of

him, covering up with a decorative

pillow.

SHAWN

Yes it does. I am doing the same

job now as I was then.

MEGAN

But your famous now. SHAWN Is that

all you want? Fame?

MEGAN

I have my fame, I don’t need yours.

She jumps up and picks up her teddy

as she storms out of the room.

MEGAN

And clean up your goddamned beer.

INT. DUGOUT — NIGHT

Shawn sits on the bench in the dugout with his team and Ben comes

up to the back door that leads to the tunnels. He is in

jeans and a t-shirt.

SHAWN

You don’t look real professional

tonight.

BEN

Here as a fan, not business.

SHAWN

Cheering for the Yanks.

BEN

Yeah. Good luck tonight.

SHAWN

We’ll need it, we’re down 2-1 in

the series and their a tough team.

BEN

You guys can do it.

Ben turns and heads back down the tunnel.

Leave a Reply

