One London Night

 

71749411

This little story grew to be the origin story for a character in a sci fi horror series I created. This is my day 3 post for the 30 days of writing challenge. Todays post is a story set before 1950.

The streets of London bustled with horse drawn carriages and men in black overcoats and top hats.  The oil street lamps where being tapped out for the night by a man. He made his way from light to light putting the flame out with a large pole. The wet smell of horse urine was strong on the cobblestone streets so Lucian escaped the dark of the street for the flickering candle light of a small pub.

Rebecca stood on the stage as she did every night to perform for the couple of drunks that would come in and give her some spare change to sing their favorite songs. The ones that reminded them of a family member or a lost love.

Lucian knew the bar well because he came here often to see Rebecca. He loved the salty smell of her skin after a night of singing. He loved the way she fit into the corset that contorted her body that he loved even more when she was out of it.  Her light green eyes would cause him to be lost from the worries of the world. He loved the feel of her small perky breasts in his hands as they made love with the muggy night air wrapped around them. He was in love with her. He wasn’t supposed to be. He wasn’t supposed to love anyone but the Lord. Nothing was to be stronger than the love for the Lord. But something was. Her.

He hadn’t chose to leave the warm embrace of God’s love for the love of a woman. He had fallen long before he laid eyes on Rebecca. Both of their lives would forever change because she wasn’t someone that he not be with wholly, he couldn’t stay a bystander. An observer to her life, to never interfere, only to watch. It was torture. Any God that loved him had to understand that love, any love, was the only choice to make.

“Rebecca, you should come with me and see the country.  Get out of London and see the world.”

“London is my world Lucian,” Rebecca said softly into Lucian’s ear, so close that the steam from her breath made condensation form on his lobe.

“There’s so much more out there. So many things you can see.”

“Lucian, I don’t have that long, I won’t make to my next birthday.  The tuberculosis is bad.” She said with a tear forming in her eye. “Just let me sing until my last day. That is what truly brings me happiness.”

“Singing?”

She laid her head on his chest and played with the little patch of hair he had between his muscles.

“And these moments.  The moments with me naked in your arms.” The tear finally became heavy enough to roll across her nose and fall onto Lucian’s chest.  He could feel the cold dampness of the tiny tear. It wasn’t much but he figured she was all cried out.

“I can help with the T.B. But there will be side effects.”

“I can’t Lucian, I’ve accepted my fate and God has a plan for me. Right, you should know that better than anyone.”

Now a tear was forming in his eye. He couldn’t stand to hear this. How could she do this to him? Make him fall in love with her and then make him live for eternity without her. She was able to die, to go to heaven to move on with her afterlife in a better place. He was stuck her, forever cursed to think about her.  Why would some one choose to die, accept fate for what it was when given the opportunity to change destiny?

“I don’t believe you. I think your more scared of living than dieing. You don’t want to love anyone, because you think I’ll leave you before you leave me. Your wrong Becca, I won’t leave you and I won’t let you die.”

“Lucian don’t do anything stupid. I want to go on. I want to go to heaven, it’s his plan.”

“What if his plan was for you to meet me and get a a second chance at life? An eternity of happiness.”

“Lucian, what are you talking about?” she asked.  Her voice was close to his hear and if she breathed he knew that he would be able to feel its hot steamy presence on his neck, which was a thought that would make him miss the evenings with her even more.

“Just thinking outloud.”

“Come dear, be with me again, I know you want it.” With a forceful shove she pulled him by the shoulders and spun around. She threw a long, slender leg over his waist and straddled him.

“Please, Becca, let me do this for you, for me.” Lucian pleaded with her.

“Lucian, you know my feeling on the subject, now I will hear no more of it. Do you understand me?”

“Yes. I understand.” The fact was that just because he understood her wishes did not mean intended to listen to her.

“Let us enjoy one more night together, my love. My doctor said I have very few left.” Her breathing had become so labored and painful that for the past couple months it had taken nearly all her strength from her. Her body was weak from breathing and coughing that all she wanted to do was lay in bed and sleep. “Old me while you still can, I would love nothing more than to fall asleep in your arms.”

Lucian crawled out of the tiny thing she called a bed and “Would you like me to draw you a bath?”

“Do I smell that putrid?”

“No, I just thought it would nice and relaxing. Something to ease you, at least for a bit.”

“If you can heat me some water that would be lovely. I would like that very much. You are the best man…er… yes man I have ever met.” She coughed a little and then closed her eyes.

Steam rose from the tub as Lucian placed his lover into the water. She sighed as she slid down, immersing herself totally under the water. Lucian struck a match and the smell of sulfur filled the air. But as soon as he touched the wick to the candles he had placed around the room the was flooded with the sweet scent of summer flowers.

“How did you do that? I didn’t think I would smell such lovely things again.”

“Let’s just say I know a guy.” They chuckled.  Then through the laughter she begin cough, an awful side effect to happiness that occurred with more regularity. When she finished coughing she looked down into the water and a tear formed in the corner of her eye. Lucian looked at the still steaming water and saw what upset her. The water was polluted with a few streams of blood, and a little trickled from the corner of her mouth.

“Look what I’ve done.” she cried

“Stop, don’t be upset. It is fine, nothing to be alarmed about.”

“But you worked so hard to do this nice thing and my stupid disease messed everything up.”

“Nonsense. You didn’t hurt a thing. Just a little blood.”

After it swirled around and mixed with the water for a few seconds the tub held no trace that the blood had ever been there.

“Let me wash you. I have a brand new sponge with your He ran the sponge over every inch of her tiny frame tracing her breasts and her flat stomach. He picked her up and after drying her off he placed her on the tiny bed again. He strolled to her bureau and pulled out a small bottle of perfume. Inside the bottle was a tiny swab. He pulled it out and it dripped with a sweet scent that filled room. He traced her neck and down her body with the swab.

“Why are you doing all this for me?” she asked.

“Because I love you. You know that, right?”

“Of course I do.”

“I know you said not another mention of it but I have someone for you to meet.”

“Absolutely not, Lucian.”

Neither of them said a word for what seemed like hours. Then the silence of the room was broken by the creaking of Rebecca’s door. And stillness of the room was broken by a shadow flowing through the flickering light of the nearly exhausted candles.

Lucian turned from his lovers bedside to look at the man he had promised would show. His face large was chiseled like the rest of his body.  He stood nearly six and a half feet tall and weighed about two ten. His dark hair and long black overcoat made him look even more menacing. He walked with a slight limp and the sound the black cane made a clicking sound as it hit the hardwood floor.

He pulled off his hat and shook off the cold. Tiny droplets of water fell to the floor as he hung his coat on the rack next to the door.

“Hello, Lucian.” The man said. “How is the little lady tonight?”

“She is sleeping now. I bathed her earlier and now she is resting. I’m sorry but she still refuses your help. I’ve done all I can, maybe this isn’t a good idea after all.”

“Nonsense my boy, she will be just fine.” He walked to her beside and stood next to Lucian. He looked her up and down. “I see why you admire her so much. She is an exquisite specimen indeed. Quite stunning.”

The man pulled his black gloves off one finger at a time. His skin was pale as snow, Lucian knew that he had to be extremely old. Vampires had been around since nearly the fall of the angels but most didn’t live more than a few hundred years due to their careless behavior and fighting among each other for territory and food.

He bent down and inhaled through his nose, smelling Rebecca’s sweet scent. “Ah, you picked a lovely one. I couldn’t have done better myself.”

“Please, Jack, I think we may need to rethink this. She has refused more times than I can count.”

“Silly boy, this isn’t really about her. I’m doing you the favor. You still owe me one whether I turn her or not, and I couldn’t care less whether she wants to change or not. I am doing this because you came to me and said you wanted her to change. As long as I have someone’s permission the effect will take hold.” He looked a Lucian and he could see the darkness in his eyes the pure evil, the fury that was bound inside the shell of a man.

“But…”

“No, buts my boy, do you want to be with her forever or do you want tonight to be your last night with this beautiful creature. It really is your call.”

“She will be better, when she comes back? I mean you have a limp.”

“Yes but that was a careless error in judgment that involved a man with a silver stake and a bit of luck on his side. Let’s just say that kind of thing will not happen again.”

“Fine, do it.” Lucian stood and walked across the room. He couldn’t stand to watch as his lover was defiled in front of him. But he had to, to make sure she was hurt in any way.

Jack opened his mouth and fangs shot out of the top teeth. He bent down again next her neck and ravaged her. Blood filled his mouth and overflowed out onto the perfect white sheets of the bed. Then he raised up and bit his own wrist, and placed it over Rebecca’s face. Lucian saw her deep blue-green eyes shoot open and stare directly at him. Jack forced her mouth open and his blood poured into her waiting mouth like a baby bird eating from her mother. What happened next was to painful for Lucian to watch, but the sounds of her screaming were enough to make him have nightmares for a century. The last thing her heard that sounds of her screaming were enough to make him have nightmares for a century. The last thing her heard that night was her beautiful voice screaming, “I will never forgive you for this Lucian.”

The sounds of Rebecca screaming woke Lucian from his sleep. He looked across the cabin to her laying on the bed, pale white. She raised her head and those same deep blue-green eyes stared at him.

“I have something to ask you, Lucian.” Her eyes flickered and he saw something in them that he hadn’t seen in quite some time.

“Anything, just name it, you know I would do anything for you.”

“I want you to help me get my soul back. Help me become myself again. Be human again.”

“Of course. How?”

He could hear an owl beginning its nightly hoot.

One thought on “One London Night

Leave a Reply

